A Saturday Adventure.
so this saturday we woke up bright and early to venture to stonehenge and bath. lets me just start off, with the fact that i haven't seen 6:30 am in a long time. unless for some crazy i'm coming home at 6:30 am in the near future... i wish to not see it again for a long time. so after an early morning trek through the tube, we meet the bus, took off for stonehenge, and natasha napped. and what a lovely nap it was, until our crazy over enthusiastic tour guide got a hold of a microphone. she would not stop talking. ok i get we're on a tour, but could you maybe wait until we're at the site until you talk about it, not two hours away at 8 am?! but no, she talked and talked and talked. lets just say i was happy to have my ipod.
luckily as soon as we arrived, the sun came out. talk about perfect timing. all morning it was gloomy and rainy (typical london weather) so we were all pretty bummed that our trip was going to be cold and wet. well that changed and we had a sunny day, and the first one in about a week!
we had about an hour at stonehenge to walk around and explore. which, was plenty of time. its a really cool place and pretty awesome to finally see something like this in person after years of hearing about it in the classroom, but... they are stones. only so exciting. all you can do is walk a big circle around them.
i was a little chilly.
the girls with mark.
beautiful sun on the stones.
the girls.
here comes the sun!
my money shot of the day. =)
post card status?
after stonehenge we got back on the bus and headed towards bath. any yes, the place we were going to see was relevant to the name. next stop on the list was the roman baths. but once again, as soon as we sat on the bus chatty kathy tour guide took off with that microphone. apparently when she was speaking for the hour and half bus ride to bath, we were not allowed to because she scolded the boys behind us and then later stopped talking when kristin asked me if i went to see wicked. woman, im sorry, i didnt not mean to be rude, but the two second conversation that took place during the hour and a half ride, was not grounds for you to stop talking and stare us down! someone take the microphone away from that woman! as we pulled into the town, of course, let the rain fall. and im talking a down pour. we drove around the town for a little while and then headed to park the bus, and sure enough the rain stopped and the sun came out. talk about luck.
a church in bath
beautiful view
next stop:
the roman baths.
random facts.
- created from hot spring waters that surrounded cotswold hills.
-used by the romans when they invaded london about 2,000 years ago
next stop, the roman baths.
-the baths were like a social event. you would spend about 5 hours a day here
-the romans would walk to these hot springs to bath themselves at least once a day, if not more
-today the water isnt sterile ... so dont touch it!
but give the stupidity level of people these days,
they were sticking their hands in the water.
ummm, im sorry but when someone tells me
i could potentially get meningitis from touching the water,
i think ill keep my hands out of it.
these people act as if theyve never touched warm water before.
seriously people?!
you guys are brilliant.
view from the top
look at that steam
lo. erin. me. kristin
after we toured the baths, we had free time to walk around the city. it was an adorable little town.
outside of the baths.
we walked around the town for a little and then went to grab a bite to eat. of all places to go, of course we picked the worst. definitely not the best lunch, i had tomato and mozz salad and in the words of lauren "my tomato was like an apple" ive never had such a crunchy unripe tomato before. after lunch we just walked around and went into the cute shops and such. after a long day, we headed back to london and i passed out on the bus. running on two hours of sleep finally caught up to me.
so as per usual, every time we go somewhere, i
always see things that boggle my mind.
and sure enough ... here are more.
no comment.
hmmm, i thought that was a known fact.
"the boston tea party" tea shop in bath.
did we forget what happened in this 'tea party'
ironic?
now this isnt stupid, but cute and funny.
on a customer feedback card in the shop.
"i have been to a tea shop in boston and
the tea wasn't as nice as here but i had a doughnut.
there accents are funny."
-Malcom Diddlington, 7 1/2 years old.
today i was able to sleep in (much needed) and then the girls came over and we booked our tickets to scotland!! talk about stressful, everytime we tried to book something, it never worked. one site told us we had the wrong postcode, sorry but no, i think i know my postcode by now. and then when we called, the woman told us that "sometimes it just doesnt work with visa cards" uhhh, thanks for the help?
long story short we ended up booking flights to scotland. dont even ask. after that we headed to the grocery store and i made myself some chili for dinna. then came the highlight of my night ... skyping with my mom and brother! jed and i started skyping when we realized my mom was on skype too, so we tried to do a three way skype chat. after some technical difficulties we finally figured it out...
LOVE <3
straight up brady bunch status.
cheers to video chatting!
if we cant spend sundays together like normal with some
football and dinner... we can at least video chat.
much love to the fam jam. miss you guys.
<3. missin' the 845.




OK a few things.
ReplyDeleteI can't believe how jealous I am that you went to stonehenge! Like...bucket list status! And your pictures are gorgeous one is currently the background on my computer.
TWO. the little Diddlington boy is so cute. What a little slice of humor in your life right?
THREE. the 845 misses you too ;) I'm so sorry we can't come to you :( but do not fear! We intend to send you a lil somethin somethin from home. love you!
Your "money shot of the day" is definitely post card status. If you're having trouble figuring out who to send it to, I'll help you out...SEND IT TO ME (and Danielle)! I love post cards!
ReplyDeleteI love the comment card from the 7½ year old haha. The funny part is he probably wasn't even talking about their Boston accents; he was probably talking about their American accents lol.