oh what a night. so we relaxed today because we intended on an eventful night. our RA's planned a trip to a club in london, for anyone in our dorms that wanted to go. the sign stated..
Trip this Saturday to Cafe de Paris. Meet outside at 9:00 pm.
Required:
Girls- Dresses and High Heels
Boys- Dress Shoesoh boy, high heels... just what a 6' 1" girls dreams of... NOT. being optimistic, i decided hell, your in london why not. so after we made a delicious family dinner (chicken, broccoli, penne in a carbonara sauce) i shuffled through my attire to attempt to find something to wear out. of course i wore the black dress that would have been perfect, out on the boat cruise earlier that week. i ended up with a black skirt, tank and a blazer. good enough. after about five minutes, my feet were hurting the heels and i was the only one who didnt have an actual dress on. moral of the story... i need to go shopping.
Once we arrived at the club, we had to wait in line outside in piccadilly circus. although it was cold, the highlight of standing in line was being offered free popcorn chicken from a police officer. the were standing in the door way making sure the line didnt block the KFC entrance. he proceeded to tell me that he had just got the chicken for free, and wanted to share. free popcorn chicken for police officers?
hmmm maybe this criminal justice degree will get me something over in london!
When we approached the door, our RA's told us to tell the bouncer we were on Caroline and Nicola's guest list. Long story short we get into the club, and next thing you know, we're sitting a reserved table with a table full of glasses and ice buckets to chill bottles.
and wouldnt you know, about 45 minutes into being there, a women brings over orange juice, cranberry juice and i giant bottle of grey goose... FOR FREE! Hell, i couldn't tell you who caroline and nicola are, nor will i ever meet them, but THANK YOU! needless to say a bunch of american in a london club for the first time plus a free bottle of grey goose, makes us think that americans need to rethink their priorities!
but, someone needs to fill us in on the rules over here. we learned tonight that when you receive a free bottle of vodka, your not allowed to pour your own drinks. they have to pour them for you and hand you the glass...but why? also, good news!.. we have realized that chivalry is not dead over here. majority of the guys are respectful of the ladies. even when we went into the club, we were free and the guys had to pay 20 pounds to enter (ps. thats crazy!) they also were not allowed to sit in the booth, the seats are for the ladies and when they went to the "loo" they were required to pay the man handing our paper towels. what the heck? since when is that a requirement. we just dont get it.
poor boys.. didnt know what they were in for.
me and erin =)
The clubs here are alot more intense than those at home, or else at least the ones i have been to. then again those are in providence and well.. the parties we throw in our apartment can blow those out of the water. this club started with a live band, then switched to DJ's and dancers occasionally. at 1 a.m. they ring "the alarm" and confetti falls from the ceiling. When someone upstairs gets a bottle of liquor they bring out these giant sparklers/flares for the people to hold. now that is cool but uhh hello, you really thing its smart to give drunk people sparkly fire to play with. good thinking guys.
People also wear the most bizarre outfits out. it ranged from fake leather high waisted pants, to crazy patterned clothing combine to legit, lingerie. strange. and there was also a fairly large amount of older people there. im talking adults that should be home with their kids helping apply to college. uhhh hellllo, if you cant wear a dress above your knee cap, then you probably shouldnt be at a club anyway. isnt 1 a.m past your bed time anyway?
On the way back the tubes were closed and we had to find out way on the night bus. this was an experience in it self. after walking through london with sprinkles of rain we saw a fight, and man be arrested, men approach us and ask us if we american, men insult us and attempt to speak with an american accent and me bite my tongue as to not cause trouble and draw attention to the dumb americans. once we finally found the right bus we made it half way home when it stopped. this was followed by the lights shutting off, yelling and screaming on the street and then slow foot steps up the stairs. turns out it was the bus drive coming to tell us he was taking a break and we would leave in a minute or two. well lets just say that scared me shitless. a million and one situation ran through my head in an instant and i didnt know what to think.
finally on our route home we were entertained by a drunk sloppy girl that was probably... hmmm 15? this whole low drinking age may not be a good thing after all. when there was no more seats, she sat on her friends lap.. and shoved french fries down her face. while annihilating those poor potatoes, she was slurring her words, had ketchup all over her face and began to announce to people that the bus she was sitting on was "her life" i believe the phrase was "this bus is my life, this beautiful bus". you got that right sweatheart, this bus is your life. riding around aimlessly and going nowhere! anyway best part of the story, the bus stopped short and she flew off her friends lap into the isle. everyone looked at her and her friends laughed... as did i. hahah, drunk drunk girl.
BAHA!
when you go home dont forget to tell your mom to lay of the rum in your bottle. i know teething is hard and it eases the pain, but you really cant handle your alcohol.
British Slang 101
yesterday i had a nice chat about british words... study hard.
American v. Brits
potato chips- crispsfries v. chips - regular thin fries v. thick french fries
parking lot- car park
restroom- the watercloset or loo
subway- tube (but pronounced chube)
garbage-rubbish
cell phone- mobile, phone or mobile phone
paper-essays
grocery store- shop
ATM- cash point
bills/cash- quid
<3 holy craps its 5 am.
No comments:
Post a Comment