Blog Archive

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

The Wheels On The Bus

well... lets make that the tracks on the tube.

so today was the first day of classes for me. and i'm happy to report that they went very well! although getting up a the crack of dawn this morning was not the highlight of my day, the rest wasnt to bad. My first class was at 10 so i had to get up and ready to take the tube into the city. Ive never had to travel so far for class before.. and to think i complained about living off campus at roger williams when the shuttle picked me up at my front door. natasha, you're lazy.

here was a twist to my day, when we got of the tube and began walking down the street something caught my eye. i turned around and thought to my self no way it couldnt be. sure enough, who do i see other than the NYC Naked cowboy! Go figure...he was all decked out with his usually costume (or lack there of) and had a camera crew following him... maybe hes trying to make it to the big screen?

note to self: dont ever watch the naked cowboy on a giant screen. that cant go over well.
the lobby


Once i made it to campus (or my building i should say) i ventured around t find my class. the first was a lecture in a big other theatre room. class was alright, social psych seems interesting. but the downfall... there were no desks. no me gusta. i had to write on my notebook on my lap.




So i think i mentioned this the other day, but here we only have 11 weeks of class, each class is once a week for three hours. well today we didnt have the seminar part of the class so cut that 3 hours down to 2, then we got out early so make it an hour. well that happened twice today...there goes week one for those classess! (im not complaining). in class i learned that in every class there is a week designated for "GIS" which is guided independent study. they cancel classes for the week and basically give u bs reading work to do. well, after the first week, and GIS week... classes are down to 9 weeks. and here comes the kicker... in my cognitve psych class we dont have the last week of lecture either... 8 weekksss babbyyy!! the number of classes they make us take a roger williams compared to this is straight up cruel and unusal punishment!

anyway... i sat around in the cafe after my first class until i met corrin and we went to our 2 o'clock class together. oh excuse me, i  believe its  14:00? PSH!

i packed my own lunch... PB & J anyone?

to start the class off i realize im sitting behind a girl that lives on my flat. first off, since when does anyone live on my flat? i dont ever see a soul here! so once again with my luck, this girl starts running her mouth about london and starts talking smack. i look at corrin and we booth sunk down into our seat.
sidenote, this girl also came out of her room when i came home the other night because the flat door closed to loudly... seriously? im not even going to get started on that.


NEWS FLASH: DON'T TALK SMACK ABOUT THE COUNTRY YOUR LIVING IN, ESPECIALLY WITH A CLASS FULL OF BRITS! YOU DUMB AMERICAN!
(she didnt even realize i took her picture)

sorry sweatheart, but you're the reason get tagged as arrogant. 

after her rant on and on about...
how her bedding sucked (as did mine..go buy a mattress pad)
how they put mayonnaise on everything (ask for no mayo)
how she doesnt want to buy the text book (is this your first semester of college)
and 
how much she missed her double memory foam mattress pad (brat) 

corrin and i were legit embarrassed..

uhhh.. yehaa!!! 

back to the classes. cognitive psych was pretty interesting. we went over optical illusions today and how your brain comprehends them. 
homer simpson... good start.

best part of the day. during this lecture, we got two break! every half hour or so, he would give us a break to stand and stretch of just talk. its about time some has figured out the ADHD natasha cannot focus for two hours straight... talk about a saving grace. 

here are some optical illusions we went over.. can you figure them out?

sidenote: these are called reversible figures: two objects in one
two black faces or a white vase

if you look it at long enough, the direction changes.
focus on the bottom right corner and to switch
bottom left towards the back

Lesson of the day:
The brain doesn't like conflict. you can only see one of the images at a time, not both. so you see either the face or the vase ... or you see the square in one direction or the other, but not both.  
The brain also recognizes things based off of imposing previous events it your memory.such as.. typical shapes that we always see.  So for this next one, the lines first appear to be different lengths when they really are the same. 
and you brain recognizes them because it associates it 
with something you've seen before such as a corner...

cool right?
or... 
there is my interpretation..



im a true artist. 


Well now that you just learned what i just paid an absurd amount of money to learn today... ill move on from class. 

We headed back to our dorm and i finished the day with a run and then dinner. I really hate how early it gets dark here. i had to cut the run short because it was getting dark and lets be honest.. this area creeps me the hell out. Dorothy aint in rhinebeck anymore. 

when i was on my computer last night, i totally forgot to add these pictures. we went to the shop to get bread for dinner and as per usual, something has to happen to shock me .. and here it was. 

before

after
can you please tell me who folds a baguette in half?! 

apparently i look like i do. yes thank you ms cashier. i was actually just thinking id like my fresh bead bread fold in half so when i pull it out, it breaks apart. last time i checked u start slicing from the end. 

speaking of food... seems to be all i do lately. chelsey and i were just discussing the things we miss from home...


She's brilliant... gushers! What a throw back and delicious snack. hey ma.. if i happen to get a package anytime soon i could uhh maybe go for some cough, gushers, cough. ;) 

And last but not least, this is for mama ellie. since i started college i would text her a picture of me on the first day of classes. given im distances challenged, i couldnt text them to her today, so here ya go ma!
they're kinda crappy... i couldnt really as anyone to take my pic because i live in a ghost town...

<3 you ellie! 

thats all for now.

this is the firs time i wrote my blog...before 3 am. 
i'm improving ... and thats all a girl can ask for =)

<3. no classes tomorrow! 








1 comment:

  1. The picture of the "Dumb American" you encountered in your class is too funny. I'm reading this blog at my desk at work and I just started laughing.

    She seriously just looks dumb. When I went to Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada on business, one of the Canadian businessmen was talking shit about America to me. If you know me at all, (a huge history buff; especially when it come to U.S. history) you know I have a lot of pride in my country. I know I was on his turf but I did not sit back and take his shit.

    He told me that the troop of Red Coats (British soldiers) that sacked the White House in the War of 1812 were a regiment from Newfoundland (which is where the Canadian businessman was originally from (it's another Canadian province)). It was an interesting fact but then he went on to say that Canadians sacked the White House once and they could do it again. I kid you not when I say I laughed out loud in his face and then said to him, "I am NOT afraid of Canada, whatsoever!" Then he said, "You laugh but it could happen." I said to him, "Yeah right! I'd like to see you try."

    He was oddly passionate and confident about this little discussion. It kind of scared me. Your "Dumb American" story reminded me of my experience with the Canadian businessman. Obviously, the situation was very different considering I was in Canada and not America so I would have been severely outnumbered if I started a beef with the guy haha. You guys should have called her out. I would have.

    ReplyDelete

I don't go by the rule book...I lead from the heart, not the head. -Princess Diana